D / E
   
Ciao Babylon
A TV documentary by Kurt Reinhard and Christoph Schreiber, 52 min., CH 2017
«Ciao Babylon» takes us to New York where Dan Kaufman is committed to preserve endangered languages. The film also follows Giancarlo Malchiodi from Brooklyn to the Swiss Alps on his way to rediscover his mother tongue Romanish, a language that may die out within a few decades. Experts believe that by the end of the century half of the 6,500 languages spoken today will have vanished; and with every language dies a unique way of perceiving the world. «Ciao Babylon» calls attention to this dramatic development.
In New York City roughly 800 languages are spoken, more than in any other city. In order to uncover these linguistic treasures and record the diverse range of idioms, linguist Dan Kaufman established the Endangered Language Alliance (ELA). Amalia Malchiodi is an ELA regular who records stories in an old Romontsch Sursilvan dialect. Her son Giancarlo spoke perfect Romansh as a boy, but later, as he says, decided out of youthful exuberance to only speak English. He now regrets that he is no longer proficient in the language of his forefathers. This is why he has started to relearn the language and eventually embarks on a trip with Amalia to Sagogn, his mother’s hometown. There they meet a Portuguese family whose children are growing up with the Romansh language, which they are learning with relative ease given its similarity to their mother tongue. As a result, the many Portuguese immigrants in Grisons are becoming the new hope for the preservation of Romansh in Switzerland.
Precisely these kinds of surprising, unpredictable twists in the evolution of languages are fascinating to Dan Kaufman. He says that no one can predict which languages will still be spoken in 200 years and which ones will only survive in the archives of the ELA.
Production: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Writers, directors:Kurt Reinhard and Christoph Schreiber
Original version in English, Spanish, Rhaeto-Romance and Swiss German with English and German subtitles, 52 min.
Protagonists: Daniel Kaufman, Giancarlo Malchiodi, Amalia Malchiodi, Leobardo Ajtzalam, José Suàrez, Lisseth Morin, Gloria Angeles and many more.
World rights: soap factory

D / E
   
Ciao Babylon
ein TV-Dokumentarfilm von Kurt Reinhard und Christoph Schreiber, 52 Min., CH 2017
«Ciao Babylon» führt uns nach New York zu Dan Kaufman, einem engagierten Sprachensammler im Grossstadtdschungel, und begleitet Giancarlo Malchiodi von Brooklyn ins Bündner Oberland auf der Suche nach seiner verlorenen Muttersprache. Von den existierenden 6’500 Sprachen wird laut UNESCO bis Ende des 21. Jahrhunderts die Hälfte ausgestorben sein. Mit jeder Sprache verschwindet auch eine einzigartige Sichtweise auf die Welt. «Ciao Babylon» macht auf diese dramatische Entwicklung aufmerksam.
In New York City werden rund 800 Sprachen gesprochen, so viele wie in keiner anderen Stadt. Um diesen Sprachschatz zu sichern und die vielfältigen Idiome aufzuzeichnen, hat der Linguist Dan Kaufman die Endangered Language Alliance (ELA) gegründet. Auch die 86-jährige Exilbündnerin Amalia Malchiodi ist von Zeit zu Zeit in der ELA-Feldstation in Manhattan anzutreffen. Sie erzählt für Dan Kaufmans Sprachenarchiv Geschichten in ihrem alten Romontsch Sursilvan. Ihr Sohn Giancarlo hatte als Junge perfekt Rätoromanisch gesprochen, aber später, wie er sagt, im jugendlichen Übermut beschlossen, nur noch Englisch zu reden. Er bereut mittlerweile, dass er die Sprache seiner Vorfahren nicht mehr beherrscht und möchte sie wieder erlernen. Deshalb unternimmt er zusammen mit seiner Mutter Amalia eine Reise ins bündnerische Sagogn, zu seinen familiären und sprachlichen Wurzeln. Dort lernen sie eine portugiesische Familie kennen. Die Kinder der portugiesischen Einwanderer wachsen mit der rätoromanischen Sprache auf, die sie durch die Nähe zur eigenen Muttersprache relativ einfach lernen. So werden die vielen portugiesischen Einwanderer im Bündnerland zu Hoffnungsträgern für den Erhalt des Romanischen in der Schweiz.
Gerade solche überraschenden, nicht voraussehbaren Wendungen in der Entwicklung von Sprachen faszinieren Dan Kaufman. Niemand kann voraussagen, welche Sprachen in 200 Jahren noch gesprochen werden und welche dann nur noch im Archiv der ELA angehört werden können.
Produktion: soap factory GmbH, Basel
Buch, Regie:Kurt Reinhard und Christoph Schreiber
Originalversion in Englisch, Spanisch, Rätoromanisch und Schweizerdeutsch mit d/e UT, 52 Min.
Mitwirkende: Daniel Kaufman, Giancarlo Malchiodi, Amalia Malchiodi, Leobardo Ajtzalam, José Suàrez, Lisseth Morin, Gloria Angeles u. v. m.
Weltrechte: soap factory